Sharks Currie Cup

Sharks Currie Cup

The Sharks (known as the Cell C Sharks for sponsorship reasons) are a South African rugby union team that participates in the annual Currie Cup tournament. The Sharks' home stadium is Kings Park Stadium in Durban. They draw most of their players from the KwaZulu-Natal Province. The Sharks are the current representative team of the KwaZulu-Natal Rugby Union, founded in 1890; for most of their history, the team was known simply as 'Natal', with a nickname of 'The Banana Boys' until the mid-1990s when they were re-branded as the Sharks. The team is the third most successful provincial union in the Currie Cup, having won the competition eight times. Natal won its first Currie Cup in 1990, the same year the union celebrated its centenary. Since then the Sharks have won the Currie Cup in 1992, 1995, 1996, 2008, 2010, 2013 and most recently in 2018. The Sharks team that plays in the Super Rugby competition is essentially the same team - they also play in Durban and draw their players from KwaZulu-Natal. For most of Super Rugby history, the Sharks Super Rugby franchise drew players from a much larger area than the Sharks provincial union, with the rugby unions of Border, based in East London and Eastern Province from Port Elizabeth included in the Sharks franchise. Since 2013 the Southern Kings functions on its own, and no longer supplies players to the Sharks franchise.

10 Jun
Today, Saturday
Show Past Events
Rugby 15:05 (UTC) 7 hours from now
Western Province vs Sharks Currie Cup LIVE! Currie Cup
Live_Streaming logo