Milton Keynes Dons

Milton Keynes Dons

Milton Keynes Dons Football Club (/ˌmɪltən ˈkiːnz ˈdɒnz/), usually abbreviated to MK Dons, is a professional association football club based in Milton Keynes, Buckinghamshire, England. The team will compete in League One, the third tier of the English football league system, after gaining promotion at the end of the 2018–19 season. The name Milton Keynes Dons was registered in June 2004 after Wimbledon F.C., formed in 1889, had been based at the National Hockey Stadium in Milton Keynes for nine months. The club kept its place in the English league structure after changing its name, kit and logo, competing as MK Dons from the start of the 2004–05 season. The club abandoned its claim to any history before 2004 in October 2006 as part of an agreement with the Football Supporters' Federation, which had previously boycotted the team and its supporters' groups. Under this deal MK Dons transferred Wimbledon F.C.'s trophies and other patrimony to Merton Council in south London in 2007. MK Dons were relegated to the fourth-tier League Two at the end of the 2005–06 season. Under the management of Paul Ince, the club won the 2007–08 League Two title, thereby gaining promotion back to League One, and the Football League Trophy during the same year. The team has remained in League One since the 2008–09 season and has been managed by Karl Robinson since 2010. The club has built a strong reputation for youth development—since 2004 it has given first team debuts to 14 local academy graduates.

30 May
Today, Tuesday
Show Past Events
No events