Palestinian West Bank Premier League

Palestinian West Bank Premier League

Ooredoo Palestinian Premier League is one of the two top divisions of the Palestinian Football Association (PFA). The other is the Gaza Strip Premier League. Palestinian clubs have a rich history stretching back to the early 1930s, but most teams folded due to the political turmoil, and ensuing reduction of the geographical area of the country. Over the years, the format of the league has taken many different shapes. The league has been uninterrupted since 2008. The 2010–11 season marked the creation of the first professional league in the territories and saw high-profile signings for many clubs. Most notably Fadi Lafi (Hilal Al-Quds), Hernán Madrid (Wadi Al-Nes), and many Arab citizens of Israel who played for teams in the second and third tier of Israeli football. The original format of the WBPL consisted of 12 teams playing each other twice over 22 matchdays, the bottom two clubs are relegated to the second division and the team with the most points are crowned champions. Markaz Shabab Al-Am'ari won the inaugural season beating out Hilal Al-Quds on goal differential. The 2011–12 included only 10 teams but the PFA have announced that four teams will be promoted from the First Division returning the league to its traditional 12-team format. The PFA also altered the rules on player eligibility banning the use of foreign players but letting teams have an unlimited amount of Arab Israeli citizens in their squads.

20 Mar
Today, Monday
Show Past Events
No events