American NWSL

American NWSL

The National Women's Soccer League (NWSL) is a professional women's soccer league, run by the United States Soccer Federation. At the top of the United States league system, it represents the sport's highest level in the United States. The NWSL was established in 2012 as a successor to Women's Professional Soccer (2007–2012), which was itself the successor to Women's United Soccer Association (2001–2003). The league began play in 2013 with eight teams, four of which were former members of Women's Professional Soccer. With the addition of two expansion teams in Houston and Orlando and the loss of Boston Breakers, it now has nine teams throughout the United States. Since the league's inaugural 2013 season, four clubs have been crowned NWSL Champions and four clubs have claimed the NWSL Shield. The most recent shield-winners are the North Carolina Courage, who relocated to Cary, North Carolina during the 2016–2017 offseason from New York, where they were known as the Western New York Flash. The current champions are the North Carolina Courage, who claimed both the NWSL Shield and the NWSL Championship in the same season, the first team to do so.

4 Oct
Today, Tuesday
Show Past Events
No events